The Hon Kerry Sanderson AC FAICD

Chair, St John of Gold Health Care

The Hon Kerry Sanderson AC was Governor of Western Australia from 2014 to 2018, the first woman to serve in this role. Since retiring from that role and until December 2021she served as Edith Cowan University’s fourth Chancellor. She continues to Chair St John of God Health Care, and the WA Parks Foundation as well as being a Director of WA Cricket and patron of a number of charitable and community organisations. 

Prior to being appointed Governor Mrs Sanderson served in a wide range of board positions, including as Chairman of Gold Corporation, Independent Chair of the State Emergency Management Committee, Non-Executive Director of listed companies Downer EDI and Atlas Iron and Director of the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research. She has participated in a number of charitable and community activities including as a Board Member of Senses Australia and of the Paraplegic Benefit Fund.  

She has held a range of senior positions in the public service and in business, including the London based Agent General for Western Australia (2008 to 2011), Chief Executive Officer of Fremantle Ports for 17 years (1991 to 2008), Deputy Director General of Transport for Western Australia and Director of the Economic and Financial Policy Division of the Western Australian State Treasury.  

She was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001 for her service to the maritime industry, was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2004 for her service to the port and maritime industries and to public sector governance and was appointed as a Companion of the Order of Australia in 2016 for her eminent service to the people of Western Australia and to a number of causes. She was Telstra Business Woman of the Year (Western Australia) in 1996 and was inducted in the WA Women’s Hall of Fame in 2015. She has been awarded Honorary Doctorates by both the University of Western Australia (Doctor of Letters honoris causa) and Murdoch University (Doctor of the University honoris causa). In 2020 she received the award of Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (CVO). 

This is of of your complimentary pieces of content

This is exclusive content.

You have reached your limit for guest contents. The content you are trying to access is exclusive for AICD members. Please become a member for unlimited access.